Narooma Lighthouse Museum
Come and discover the history of Narooma at the Narooma Lighthouse Museum, located at the Narooma Visitor Centre.
The key piece of the Narooma Lighthouse Museum is the original light and optical apparatus from the Montague Island Light station. This Light station was the last manned in NSW and is still the only remaining occupied light station on the NSW coast. The light and optical apparatus were constructed by Chance Brothers of Birmingham, suppliers of most lighthouse equipment for colonial governments at the time. The light was first lit on 6 October 1881 and was used for almost 105 years, with its final manual lighting occurring 14 September 1986. The light and optical apparatus were removed from Montague Island when the light was automated.
A detailed interpretive display `Mainland to Island` and a collection of items have been developed around the theme of this central piece.
Narooma Lighthouse Museum Information
Check In Time: 09:00
Check Out Time: 05:00
Contact & Enquiries:
Phone: 02 4476 2881 (International Code +61244762881)
Fax: 02 4476 1690 (International Code +61244761690)
TollFree: 1800 240 003
Narooma Visitors Centre, Princes Highway
New South Wales 2546
Narooma Lighthouse Museum Facilities
- Car park
- Public Toilet
Narooma Lighthouse Museum Experiences
- Nature based
- Science and Technology